Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion for successfully cultivating potatoes, the world's fourth largest crop.

Old March 20, 2008   #1
Tomaat
Tomatovillian™

Default Salad Blue and Highland Burgundy Red potatoes

Hello all,

I am new in growing potatoes, so far only grown Nicola and Bintje potatoes in pots. I bought the Salad Blue and Highland Burgundy Red potato seeds since january '08 and each seed has produce 2 to 5 chubby shoots (about 1cm in diameter and about 3 to 5 cm long). I only let 2 to 3 shoots per seeds and just planted them in 10 to 12.5 litres pot per seed.
I use manured compost for their growing medium (a mix of mushroom compost,old cow manure and top soil).

Have you ever grow these potatoes ? I don't know how productive are they. Do I need a bigger pot for the seed ?

I would also like to save the berries for the (true) seed purpose. Do I need to isolate them away from each other (I mean the Salad Blue and The Highland Burundy Red) ? If yes, how far ?
Do I need to hand pollinate them or is the pollinations done by insect or wind ?
So sorry if other has ask this before but I have no clue and needed help .

Many Thanks in advance .
Tomaat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21, 2008   #2
Tom Wagner
Crosstalk™ Forum Moderator

Quote:
I am new in growing potatoes, so far only grown Nicola and Bintje potatoes in pots. I bought the Salad Blue and Highland Burgundy Red potato seeds since january '08 and each seed has produce 2 to 5 chubby shoots (about 1cm in diameter and about 3 to 5 cm long). I only let 2 to 3 shoots per seeds and just planted them in 10 to 12.5 litres pot per seed.
I use manured compost for their growing medium (a mix of mushroom compost,old cow manure and top soil).

Have you ever grow these potatoes ? I don't know how productive are they. Do I need a bigger pot for the seed ?
Tomaat,