Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

New to growing your own tomatoes? This is the forum to learn the successful techniques used by seasoned tomato growers. Questions are welcome, too.

Old March 14, 2014   #1
tnkrer
Tomatovillian™

Default From seed starting to planting - help me in my plan

This is my first year to start from seed. So I am reading and trying to formulate a plan. Here are the major stages and how I plan to accomplish those (with questions peppered in) Please let me know where I should change/improve

0. Preparation: Find out what you want and acquire seeds - In the winter preceding the season, read up on TVille and find out what you would like to grow, what would work in your location, for your style of growing etc. Beg, borrow, barter, buy the seeds you need.

1. Sprouting: I am using small dixie cups (with lids) with a thin layer of DE (Diatomaceous Earth) saturated with water. The cups are in a plastic container which is on heating mat. variety of the seed is named on the dixie cup. The temperature inside the plastic container hovers between 75-80 F. In my trial I got tremendous sprouts on all 4 seeds I tried. Right now I have three seeds of each variety per dixie cup. (16 containers in all, tomatoes, eggplants and peppers)

2. Seedling: In 3 to 5 days the seeds will sprout. When the sprouts are still small (less than 1/4", I am worried that bigger sprouts might break off when I am moving those) move the sprouts to seed starting tray containing DE. The tray is over the seed heating mat. There is a plastic dome on the seedling tray. The temp inside that is around 75 F. DE is being watered from bottom. Add 1/4 tsp per gallon of all purpose fertilizer to the water when seedlings emerge. In another 3 days I will be ready to move my sprouts to this setup. This set up is ready to go.

3. Transplant: This is probably 1-3 weeks away and I am least prepared for it. So many questions and nothing is ready yet.
. Potting