Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old June 26, 2013   #1
wally mcgee
Tomatovillian™

Default choices, an early tomato

Could some of you seasoned tomato growers recommend an early heirloom variety for me to try.

I am new to growing heirlooms and am growing: German Pink, Cherokee Purple, and Brandy Wine this year. I thought an earlier producer might be nice in the mix.

I must have the bug as I'm already thinking next year
wally mcgee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26, 2013   #2
Redbaron
Tomatovillian™

Does it have to be heirloom? Shadow boxing is my earliest this year.

AKA The Redbaron

"Permaculture is a philosophy of working with, rather than against nature; of protracted & thoughtful observation rather than protracted & thoughtless labour; & of looking at plants & animals in all their functions, rather than treating any area as a single-product system."
Bill Mollison
co-founder of permaculture
Redbaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26, 2013   #3
KathyDC
Tomatovillian™

I've never grown it myself, but you could try Earliana. It was introduced in ~1900 and is supposed to be an earlier variety (not as early as others though - I think it's around 65 days). But if you're looking for an early heirloom, as opposed to just something that's open pollenated, you might consider it.

Kathy
KathyDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26, 2013   #4
Tania
Tomatovillian™

Stupice, Kimberley, Glacier, Kotlas are great and reliable early varieties.

Tatiana's TOMATObase
Tania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26, 2013   #5
tnkrer
Tomatovillian™

Wally .. here is a thread I am watching, (early tomato thread) I also want to pick one or two early tomatoes for next year. (I have early girl this year. Its F1 hybrid and depending on its taste, it may/not stay)

That Fish Lake Oxheart seems interesting.
tnkrer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26, 2013   #6
Tania