Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

New to growing your own tomatoes? This is the forum to learn the successful techniques used by seasoned tomato growers. Questions are welcome, too.

Old April 11, 2015   #1
cjp1953
Tomatovillian™

Default Peat pots or plastic cups

What do you use to start your tomato and pepper seeds in?I bought some starting mix and 4" round peat pots but have seen on some posts that they grow mold on the sides.I'm wondering if I would be better off using plastic cups of the same size instead of the peat pots.What are your thoughts?This is my first time starting any plants from seed.
cjp1953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11, 2015   #2
pmcgrady
Tomatovillian™

Don't buy any, make your own pots from newspaper.
pmcgrady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11, 2015   #3
Labradors2
Tomatovillian™

In the past, I have used both peat pots and newspaper pots. Occasionally, I would re-use a yoghurt container or a plastic pot. What I found was that the plastic pots held moisture much better than the other containers, and my plants did better.....

Linda
Labradors2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11, 2015   #4
luigiwu
Tomatovillian™

I am all about using seed starting mix in cells (via dense planting) and then potting up to potting mix in SOLO/plastic cups. It does mean you have to drill holes in the container. And I only bottom water.

Last edited by luigiwu; April 11, 2015 at 09:40 AM.
luigiwu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11, 2015   #5
Tracydr
Tomatovillian™

I really don't like peat pots because they dry very quickly. I don't have time to water seedlings 2-3 times a day.
Tracydr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11, 2015   #6
beefsteak
Tomatovillian™