Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   Starting From Seed (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=82)
-   -   Peat pots or plastic cups (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=35971)

cjp1953 April 11, 2015 08:23 AM

Peat pots or plastic cups

What do you use to start your tomato and pepper seeds in?I bought some starting mix and 4" round peat pots but have seen on some posts that they grow mold on the sides.I'm wondering if I would be better off using plastic cups of the same size instead of the peat pots.What are your thoughts?This is my first time starting any plants from seed.

pmcgrady April 11, 2015 08:28 AM

Don't buy any, make your own pots from newspaper.

Labradors2 April 11, 2015 08:30 AM

In the past, I have used both peat pots and newspaper pots. Occasionally, I would re-use a yoghurt container or a plastic pot. What I found was that the plastic pots held moisture much better than the other containers, and my plants did better.....

Linda

luigiwu April 11, 2015 08:37 AM

I am all about using seed starting mix in cells (via dense planting) and then potting up to potting mix in SOLO/plastic cups. It does mean you have to drill holes in the container. And I only bottom water.

Tracydr April 11, 2015 09:03 AM

I really don't like peat pots because they dry very quickly. I don't have time to water seedlings 2-3 times a day.

beefsteak April 11, 2015 09:45 AM

[I] I use Styrofoam cups[/I] for transplanting seedlings and just keep increasing size for re-transplanting. Not PC but it's what I do. For starting seed I've used all kinds of things but settled on peat pots for starting and as soon as they get their true leaves, into the Styrofoam cups. Now if I'm starting tomatoes real early to get big plants to put in I will use plastic pots, (the cheap thin black ones), because they don't make big enough Styrofoam cups, (picture gallon size). :yes:

Stvrob April 11, 2015 10:20 AM