Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion for successfully cultivating potatoes, the world's fourth largest crop.

Old June 12, 2007   #1
FlipTX
Tomatovillian™

Default Houston Sweet Potato progress 2007

I got my slips from Sand Hill yesterday. So including the slips I started from a storebought sweet potato, I'll be planting:

Japanese - Large, semi-bush, pink-red skin, pale orange flesh
Korean Purple - Vining, purple skin, white flesh, very sweet
Laceleaf - Semi-bush, pink skin, pale orange flesh
Violetta - Vining, bright purple skin, white flesh, "superbly sweet"

Right now all the new slips are in cups of moist peat moss, recuperating from their trip in the shipping box. I'll be planting them in the ground and in pots over the next few days. This is my first time growing sweet potatoes so I'm pretty anxious!
FlipTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12, 2007   #2
houseodessey
Tomatovillian™

I'm getting 25 assorted slips this week from a member of another board. I was under the impression that I was starting too late so I'm glad to see another Texan who is just getting theirs. How do you plan on planting them? It seems there are various theories as to what is best with SP's.
houseodessey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12, 2007   #3
FlipTX
Tomatovillian™

I'll be growing most of them in containers, since my garden is so small. I make "imitation ProMix", basically. I need to read up on sweet potato culture while my slips are having their spa treatment in their cups.

My preference would have been to plant these suckers in mid-late April, but I wanted to grow some unusual varieties from Sand Hill so that's why I'm planting so late. I'm not worried about an early frost killing the plants but putting them out in the super-inferno we've been having recently makes them a bit wilty. I don't know if that's a problem or not.
Old June 12, 2007   #4
houseodessey
Tomatovillian™