Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion for successfully cultivating potatoes, the world's fourth largest crop.

Old April 12, 2007   #1
bizzarbazzar
Tomatovillian™

Default I know nothing about growing potatoes, please assist

I am a potato newbie, please help

The one thing my DH has never allowed me to try to grow has been potatoes. I have bought bags of potatoes, used what I needed and "forgot" about them. So for several years, I was not even allowed to buy them. For our anniversary DH got some seed potatoes for me, showing me that all is forgiven. Here is the problem, what do I do with them?

I understand I plant then and I read about cutting them, so each piece has 1-2 eyes, and letting the cut heal etc. Not one site tells me which direction to plant the eyes in. This may sound like a stupid question, but I thought point them us as they become the plant. One of the sites I read just stomp them in the ground. Any advice would be helpful

Also could I put them on the same fertilizer routine as the tomatoes, peppers, etc or do they need special treatment?

Thank you
bizzarbazzar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12, 2007   #2
lavandula girl
Tomatovillian™

Plant them rather shallowly at first, rose side up (cut side down) in rich soil amended with well rotted manure (no fresh). Don't add lime, or you may get a scab problem. You can side dress with a high potash fertilizer. As the sprouts come through the soil, continue to hill dirt over them, or else pile up straw to cover the plants. The higher you pile it, the more potatoes you'll have. Since we've been having this yucky weather, make sure not to let the frost damage your shoots, or they'll take much longer to grow.
Old April 13, 2007   #3
bizzarbazzar
Tomatovillian™

lavandula girl, Thank you. I will do that. I hope it works out for me My tomatoes always do wonderfully but, when things are new to me....its another story
Old April 13, 2007   #4
Gimme3
Tomatovillian™