Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating peppers.

Old March 6, 2007   #1
spyfferoni
Tomatovillian™

Default Saving seed question

I want to save some pepper seeds, but I've read that peppers either need to isolated or blossoms bagged. At what stage do you bag the blossom? Could I plant some peppers in my front yard and some spread around my garden in the backyard?

Thanks! Obviously I've never done this before.

Tyff
spyfferoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6, 2007   #2
nctomatoman
Tomatoville® Moderator

I've not bagged them either, but I think that it is probably easier to bag the plant for a few weeks while some of the flowers are opening and pollinating (as long as you can exclude small bees from entering). I would think that bagging indivual pepper blossoms very, very challenging.
Old March 6, 2007   #3
feldon30
Tomatovillian™

I would just bag the entire pepper plant.

You will need to shake the plant periodically to get it to pollinate.
feldon30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6, 2007   #4
spyfferoni
Tomatovillian™

Craig what do you do to keep your pepper seed pure? Do you bag the whole plant or isolate the plants you plan on saving seed from?

Thank!

Tyff
Old March 6, 2007   #5
nctomatoman
Tomatoville® Moderator

Hey Tyff - first, I don't do nearly as good a job as I would like in keeping them pure (then again, I've been able to work through some cool selections with a little help from the bees!). I find that it works out quite well with purity, however, if I save seed from the initial few fruit that set early in the season, before the bees get going and find the pepper blossoms. When it gets really hot and the plants are loaded with blossoms, the bees really buzz out there and probably are doing all sorts of genetic experiments. Or, if I wait until really late in the season, when the bee number declines, saving seeds from very late set fruit has worked well for me also.