Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating peppers.

Old April 27, 2014   #1
suvoth
Tomatovillian™

Default Overwintering King of the North

I am very new to gardening and have read that you can overwinterize your pepper plants. Is this possible with King of the North peppers?
suvoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27, 2014   #2
LDiane

I have never grown King of the North, but I do have peppers overwinter.

A couple of pepper species (Capsicum baccatum and C. chinense) are very late, and
barely produce anything before a killing frost in my garden. I grow them in big
pots which I put outside in summer and bring inside before frost. I have several
plants of Cambuci, which are about three years old. They produce small peppers
all winter at a window in the house.

I also potted a lot of C annuum that had been producing fruit in the garden
and put them in a greenhouse which stays about the same temperature
as outside, except it doesn't go below freezing. So it is about 5 C (40 F)
all winter. They continued to ripen their peppers during the winter, then
a lot of them died. However, some are still alive, and are now putting out
flowers and new leaves.

I don't know whether these are particularly suited to overwintering, as
this is the first year I tried them, but these are the survivors:

Anaheim, Chinese Giant Sweet, Conquistador, Dedo de Moca, Early Calwonder,
Gourmet, Jupiter, Pizza, Quadrato d'Asti
Old April 27, 2014   #3
suvoth
Tomatovillian™

Thanks for the info. I've got King of the North peppers growing right now and one mystery pepper (grabbed seeds from an organic "sweet long red" pepper I liked).
Old May 14, 2014   #4
tecolote
Tomatovillian™

Default Perennial peppers