Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Forum area for discussing hybridizing tomatoes in technical terms and information pertinent to trait/variety specific long-term (1+ years) growout projects.

Old April 6, 2018   #1
Boutique Tomatoes
Tomatovillian™

Default Determining color in rin lines

My brain has been working on this with no results for a while.

I've been playing with rin lines for several years, working on getting stripes and the Aft genes I want in rin lines so that I can someday make F1 ESL hybrids with the appearance genetics that interest me. Last year I finally got a F2 that had all three in it at a saladette size, this year I have 18 more F2 rin lines going out and 10 more F1 crosses with a rin/rin parent.

What I'm curious about is that I've intentionally made crosses with the full color palette of tomatoes at my disposal, as I want to someday be able to make F1's in various colors as well.

The challenge I have is how can I tell which color genes are present in a non-ripening line other than by crossing it to stable recessive color lines to see what the resulting F1's are?

As it is I can only come up with making selections for phenotype at F2 and then the following season making multiple crosses then growing those out to attempt a determination as to the color genes in the rin lines. Is there any other option?
Boutique Tomatoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6, 2018   #2
Nan_PA_6b
Tomatovillian™

Can you wait until the tomatoes eventually ripen, and see what you get?

Nan
Nan_PA_6b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6, 2018   #3
Boutique Tomatoes
Tomatovillian™

rin is non-ripening, so a rin/rin breeding line for making F1 ESL hybrids with will never show the fruit color. The most you end up with is some yellowing as they mature.

In rin lines that have the crimson gene you will see a bit of red even in a rin/rin. But I'm interested in the colors you don't normally see in these lines.