Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating onions, garlic, shallots and leeks.

Old May 29, 2016   #1
bower
Tomatovillian™

Default Your favourite garlic varieties

I'm curious about the garlic varieties that do best for people in different places.
Which ones do you prefer, and why? Which are the earliest, or the hardiest, or biggest, or tastiest in your farm or garden?

I've been growing up garlic from bulbils for a few years, but got a windfall of seed garlic that was left over after helping to plant at the farm last fall. So I built a couple of new beds, and I have some new varieties. It's early season here, and there are some big differences in the different garlics.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2016-garlicbeds.JPG (245.9 KB, 162 views)
bower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2016   #2
bower
Tomatovillian™

This bed has two varieties in it: Argentina on the left, and Spanish Roja on the right. Argentina is the earliest of all and really vigorous. Spanish Roja came up quite a bit later. The cloves were a good size and these did well at the farm, but it's colder at my site I think.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2016-Argentina-SpanishRoja.JPG (120.6 KB, 160 views)
File Type: jpg 2016-Argentina-SpanishRojamay.JPG (181.1 KB, 160 views)
Old May 29, 2016   #3
bower
Tomatovillian™

This bed had garlic in it two years ago and peppers last year. I had to dig the bed completely and lay cardboard beneath because fireweed was creeping in from below. Planted here are Music which I grew up from bulbils, in the first two rows, and the rest are New York White - a softneck.
Wire and whatnot are to keep moose from walking through it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2016-Music-NYWhite.JPG (267.6 KB, 157 views)
Old May 29, 2016   #4
bower
Tomatovillian™