Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion regarding garden diseases, insects and other unwelcome critters.

Old June 16, 2017   #1
HoustonHeat
Tomatovillian™

Default Expert Help Needed - pics included

I am new to gardening. I had very healthy green plants but in past few weeks they all are turning lighter colors but one in particular is turning purplish. Is this just the heat or is this curly top disease or just a NPK deficiency? I heard low P could cause purple color?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1888.jpg (578.2 KB, 309 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1889.jpg (347.6 KB, 312 views)
HoustonHeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16, 2017   #2
zipcode
Tomatovillian™

It does look like very low nutrients, especially N.
Did you fertilize with anything? When fruit start growing, the plant needs lots more nutrients.
zipcode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16, 2017   #3
gdaddybill
Tomatovillian™

It looks like fairly extreme nutrient deficiency. Low phosphorous can cause the purplish cast but I think the plants need a good balanced fertilizer. Try an organic like 4-4-3 + CA on the soil and foliar applications with a hose-on sprayer. The sprayer type that you put in the container straight and it blends from the saturated solution at the top(no rubber hose in the container) are relatively safe to use. There shouldn't be any foliage burn if the soil is watered first.
gdaddybill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16, 2017   #4
RayR
Tomatovillian™

Nutrient deficiency, I don't think so.
You better check the underside of the leaves for mites.
RayR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16, 2017   #5
WhippoorwillG
Tomatovillian™

I will stick with nutrient deficiency and heat. If you are growing in containers, I will double down on that assessment.

Whippoorwill Gardens
WhippoorwillG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16, 2017   #6
jillian
Tomatovillian™

Yes, looks like they are starving for nutrients.