Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion for successfully cultivating potatoes, the world's fourth largest crop.

Old February 19, 2013   #1
dirt dauber
Tomatovillian™

Default Baby potaoes vs. seed potatoes

Anybody have any ideas about which is better, baby potatoes or planting seed potatoes? This is my first year growing potatoes and im not sure which is best. Im thinking of planting baby tubers vs. quartering seed potatoes. What are the pro and cons of each? Thanks
dirt dauber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19, 2013   #2
Redbaron
Tomatovillian™

Certified seed potatoes are generally best. Less disease. But they are more expensive. Also Tom sells seed (TPS) and a few others sell seed too. That is generally free of disease too.

AKA The Redbaron

"Permaculture is a philosophy of working with, rather than against nature; of protracted & thoughtful observation rather than protracted & thoughtless labour; & of looking at plants & animals in all their functions, rather than treating any area as a single-product system."
Bill Mollison
co-founder of permaculture
Redbaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20, 2013   #3
Tom Wagner
Crosstalk™ Forum Moderator

Dirt,

Potatoes are graded by size.

Sizes

• Size A: 1-7/8 inch and larger, 40% over 2-1/2 inches or 6 oz.
  • Size B: 1-1/2 inch – 2-1/14 inches, sometimes called new potatoes
  • Baby: 1-1/2 inch and smaller, usually packed in pint baskets or tubs