Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old July 22, 2010   #1
FILMNET
Tomatovillian™

Default beginner questions

This is my first year growing Heirlooms, i put a 6ft stick in each plant and use Florida tie also. Only 4 on 1 side, 3 on a another side and 1 on the others. My garden is 20ft by 15ft, all plants are great with 5-20 fruits on the bottoms, very heavy though , i have tied the plants up on the stick if i can reach the stem .
After i tied up them to 3-4 ft, the plants went to 2 stems then i tie then to Florida way.
So my plants have big fruit on the bottom, but still green and now other fruits are coming out at the top so my heavy plants are moving around with the wind now. I do not want then to fall to the ground, What should i do, cut the tops off at 6ft? my Berkeley tie dye plants have 1-3 huge maybe 2 lbs fruits on the bottom. but now more at 5ft. The plants are balanced now with the weight at the bottoms, but any more at the top might be to much, i which my bottoms one would hurry up.

Here is the huge one, more coming on the same plant

Has anyone herd of this fertilizer a friend gave it to me

Last edited by FILMNET; July 22, 2010 at 11:03 AM.
FILMNET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22, 2010   #2
Tormato
Tomatovillian™

h, the horrors of having overloaded plants. Welcome to the club, FILMNET.

It's probably easiest to treat this "problem" on a plant by plant basis. I simply add another stake to a plant that gets top-heavy. Place the stake and tie up the plant where you think it is most likely to keel over.

Tormato
Tormato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22, 2010   #3
Timmah!
Tomatovillian™

You could go to your local Lowes or Home Depot or whatever & buy 10' long sections of EMT for $2.00 & cut them to length for stakes or make a sturdy trellis with zip ties.

http://www.tomatoville.com/attachmen...7&d=1275252048
Timmah! is offline   Reply With Quote