Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old June 17, 2010   #1
b54red
Tomatovillian™

Default Eva Purple Ball???

Below is the fruit set from my only surviving Eva Purple Ball. They are very oblate and look like beefsteaks to me. I am new to growing this variety; but I thought it was supposed to be a more round fruit. I got the seed from TGS and don't want to replant them in the fall if they are wrong. This plant has been in the garden for 60 days and seems like it developed fruit very slowly. It is way behind other varieties that are supposed to take much longer to make.

Last edited by b54red; April 12, 2011 at 02:00 AM.
b54red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17, 2010   #2
carolyn137
Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by b54red View Post
Below is the fruit set from my only surviving Eva Purple Ball. They are very oblate and look like beefsteaks to me. I am new to growing this variety; but I thought it was supposed to be a more round fruit. I got the seed from TGS and don't want to replant them in the fall if they are wrong. This plant has been in the garden for 60 days and seems like it developed fruit very slowly. It is way behind other varieties that are supposed to take much longer to make.
Nope, not dear Eva. Fruits are the absolute wrong shape and the oblate one on the right even has a belly button which Eva never has.

Eva has perfectly formed pink globe fruits and I've been growing it from time to time since the early 90's when Joe Bratka and I first co-listed it in the SSE YEarbook. So that's a variety I know very well.