Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion regarding garden diseases, insects and other unwelcome critters.

Old August 8, 2012   #1
fastback81
Tomatovillian™

Default Disease Control (fung-onil vs Oxidate vs Serenade)

Hello All,
I'm a newbie so I apologize for any topics that have already been discussed, but I'm dying to know what type of experience everybody has had with different types of fungicide as prevention/control of early blight/septoria/etc...

I'm trying to stay as chemical free as possible but I'm still trying to watch toxicity as well (I don't like using copper).

I've used Fung-Onil (bonide product with chloranthanil), but have been looking into Serenade and Oxidate and want to start treating more organically.

Has anybody used Oxidate and/or Serenade with success either for control or prevention?

Thanks for any insights in advance.

Ron
fastback81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8, 2012   #2
b54red
Tomatovillian™

I used Serenade for most of one summer with very poor results. The disease pressure is just too great here and the chloranthanil products are much more successful and also much cheaper.
b54red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8, 2012   #3
fastback81
Tomatovillian™

Do you feel comfortable with using Draconil? I do worry about the effect on beneficial insects but I don't know if there is any actual science that proves there is a negative effect.

I'd love to find out if anybody has used Oxidate with success.

Thanks for the post
Old August 8, 2012   #4
b54red
Tomatovillian™