Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion for successfully cultivating potatoes, the world's fourth largest crop.

Old June 8, 2012   #1
Lidspinner
Tomatovillian™

Default please excuse my ignorance about berries

I normally grow a few acres of everything but Potatoes....in the past few years I have been getting into growing some easy potatoes, yukon gold and some little red ones that I cannot remmeber the name.....but anyhow, I have not had great luck using the bags or buckets......this year I am following a youtube video that I watched of them growing on the ground covered in aged compost and straw..thats it....and they are growing better than ever....of course we will not know anything till the end of summer but I could not be happier about plant growth so far...

my question is going to sound so stupid to everyone and I feel so dumb asking cause I know its something I should know be it that I have been growing for several years, but last year I got TONS of little berries all over my plants....I mean TONS....I was stumped and didnt really pay much attention to what they were as I am still a rookie at growing potatoes.......but now I am seeing that people are giving those little berries away and posters are trreating the berries as a good sign.....I threw them in the compost pile with the dead plant matter from last year....

what exactly are the berries and how do I use them in the future?

Thanks again everyone....its amazing the amount of knowledge I get from this site on all the forums...its my go to site for gardening, thats for sure.
Lidspinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8, 2012   #2
Doug9345
Tomatovillian™

Remember that potatoes are Solanums like peppers tomatoes and a bunch of others. Those little "berries" are where how potatoes grow real seeds. If you notice they look like little tomatoes. Look in the potato forum for more information on TPS - True Potato Seed.
Doug9345 is offline   Reply With Quote