Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old January 28, 2006   #1
COgarden
Tomatovillian™

Default Why Tomatoes?, and a thank you to Mischka.

First and foremost I want to thank Mischka for starting this forum. I won't go in to the reasons I was so excited to see this site. (No advertising, and completely dedicated to the best fruit/veggie there is!) I'm fairly new to tomato growing, 3 seasons now, but I'll offer my experience whenever I feel I have something to contribute. I know this kind of site will get the type of support that it needs to survive.

So, to get things rolling, what got you started growing tomatoes? Share a few good tommy memories.

Kurt
COgarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28, 2006   #2
Mischka
Tomatoville® Administrator

I became hooked on growing tomatoes when I joined the old GW forum back in 2001. Up until then, I only grew the standard Big Boy/Early Girl storebought plants every year. Once my eyes were opened to the world of heirlooms, I never looked back.

I admit that I also grow hybrids, but it's more out of curiously than anything else. I have a very hard time walking past a seed rack in any store without buying at least one package of seeds :wink:

99% of my tomato seeds are bought online. I created a link post in another forum here to assist members in locating their favorite variety.

As for this site, I hope that GardenWeb members will discover it and perhaps migrate to it.

Mischka
Mischka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29, 2006   #3
coronabarb
Tomatoville® Recipe Keeper

Mischka,

Yes, a BIG thank you for all the work to setting up this place. And I want to thank you for the Marianna's Peace seed you sent out a few years back.