Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old June 9, 2013   #1
chastom
Tomatovillian™

Default Grasshoppers in Texas, I need help

I am an organic farmer/gardener and I have the grasshopper plague/infestation that has been common the past couple of years. The infestation this year is earlier and heavier than last year.
At this time, the grasshoppers are about 1" long and many are just 'sitting' on the tomato, or on a tomato plant leaf. The only thing I know of that might work is spraying Surround WP, which is a wettable powder. And the other solution, which I have already tried with not much results, is NoLo. The area I would need to treat is just too big to try to 'control' the grasshoppers with NoLo.
If anyone else knows of anything I can do to keep the grasshoppers from eating up my tomato crop, I would be very appreciative.
chastom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9, 2013   #2
SIP Gro-Tubs
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by chastom View Post
I am an organic farmer/gardener and I have the grasshopper plague/infestation that has been common the past couple of years. The infestation this year is earlier and heavier than last year.
At this time, the grasshoppers are about 1" long and many are just 'sitting' on the tomato, or on a tomato plant leaf. The only thing I know of that might work is spraying Surround WP, which is a wettable powder. And the other solution, which I have already tried with not much results, is NoLo. The area I would need to treat is just too big to try to 'control' the grasshoppers with NoLo.
If anyone else knows of anything I can do to keep the grasshoppers from eating up my tomato crop, I would be very appreciative.
Years ago there was a article in MotherEarth, about making your own Bacteria spray.