Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Discuss your tips, tricks and experiences growing and selling vegetables, fruits, flowers, plants and herbs.

Old March 9, 2011   #1
tam91
Tomatovillian™

Default Where to sell extras?

I'm not really growing for market, this just seemed perhaps the best spot to put my question.

As a complete newbie to seed starting, I think I got a little over-enthused - in my eagerness to make sure I got one of each variety, I planted extras. I'm having great success - and I will probably have LOTS of extras. I'll give some to friends, but I don't think I'll have enough friends.

I was wondering how I might be able to sell off my extras for a few bucks? I'd hate for them to die, and as I bought all the shelves, lights, etc. this year it would be nice to recoup a little of that. Can I just put a table by the roadside with a sign I wonder?

Any ideas?
tam91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9, 2011   #2
Tom C zone 4/5
Tomatovillian™

Craigs list might be one place to offer your extras.
Old March 9, 2011   #3
Wi-sunflower
Tomatovillian™

There have been several threads here about what people do with their extras. Tho probably not in the market forum.

For a first timer, a table in the driveway and/or Craigslist would probably be the easiest and cheapest way to go.

If you have a local flea market that is reasonably priced, you could try that. But you might be best if you go there as a customer first to see what your competition would be and if your plants would be as good or better. But don't forget that often flea market customers just want bargains and don't care that you have great varieties.

Carol
Wi-sunflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9, 2011   #4
stormymater
Tomatovillian™