Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Forum area for discussing hybridizing tomatoes in technical terms and information pertinent to trait/variety specific long-term (1+ years) growout projects.

Old June 8, 2014   #1
Bevans18
Tomatovillian™

Default Hydroponic tomato growing

Hello all - I'm looking to find the best way to start and scale up indoor hydroponic tomato growing. All ideas are welcome! I'm a Chemist so I am especially interested in proper equipment technology, nutrients, humidity, and grow light technology that has been successful for growing the sweetest red tomato. Additionally, a highly productive tomato plant is a real plus. Thanks for your help! Kind regards, Bill
Bevans18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8, 2014   #2
RootLoops
Tomatovillian™

look into dutch buckets, they scale up pretty well
RootLoops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8, 2014   #3
Cole_Robbie
Tomatovillian™

Dutch buckets are a type of recirculating deep water culture, which works very well for big plants. My DWC system just pumps the reservoir solution into a pvc manifold with holes to let it spray back down. It's very simple and works very well.

I have also built systems similar to the "aeroflow." People call the aeroflow NFT, but the strict definition of NFT is like the systems Farmtek sells to grow lettuce. The aeroflow is kind of a hybrid between NFT and DWC. If you build an aeroflow for typical indeterminate tomatoes, 4" pvc pipe is too small, so are house gutters. You want 6" pvc or the square white vinyl fence post covers, or else the roots clog it up.

General Hydroponics Flora series is the most common line of nutrients, and a good starting point. If you want to be precise, it helps to start with RO filtered water. I have also had good luck with fish tank water.