Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion for successfully cultivating potatoes, the world's fourth largest crop.

Old June 25, 2012   #1
OneDahlia
Tomatovillian™

Default Bad case of early blight on potatoes ... damage control?

I'm a pretty new gardener and this is my first year growing potatoes. The leaves started yellowing a few weeks ago, and in a quick google search I read that you're supposed to leave the potatoes in the ground for a few weeks after the plants yellow and die, so I figured it was just the natural process. (Admittedly, I am not being a very attentive gardener this year.) Well, now that I let it go awhile, I'm seeing that they're not just yellow, they now have brown spots and brown leaves too. It looks like early blight, and a bad case of it. I was afraid for awhile that it might be late blight, so I dug under one plant and came up with a few perfect (and yummy!) potatoes, so at least it's not something that's affecting the potatoes.

My question is now that I've let it progress this far, what's the best damage control? I'm not sure I will be able to control this on the potatoes, but at least I don't want it to spread to the tomatoes. Some of the potato plants are pretty much completely affected. Others have a lot of leaves that are still green. Should I pull out the worst plants, prune the others heavily, and spray with Daconil? Or should I get rid of all the plants at this point? And if I do that, do I harvest all the potatoes, or can they stay in the ground for awhile?
OneDahlia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26, 2012   #2
Tom Wagner
Crosstalk™ Forum Moderator

Early Blight hits potatoes late and any late spraying is not going to do much good.
Tie that in with extremes of wet and dry periods...no small wonder for the blight to spread.