Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion regarding garden diseases, insects and other unwelcome critters.

Old May 17, 2022   #1
Dark Rumor
Tomatovillian™

Default Black spots on newer growth

I noticed black spots on two of my 30 plants and the leaves were crumbling, the damage was on new growth near the top. Does anybody know what this is and how to treat it. Not sure how many plants may have it. Do not know if I should start removing the affected plants.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg leaf spots 1.jpg (82.4 KB, 151 views)
File Type: jpg leaf damage.jpg (71.2 KB, 150 views)
Dark Rumor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2022   #2
seaeagle
Tomatovillian™

I have very little experience with tomato disease. I have Septoria which my plants always outgrow and it usually is just on the bottom leaves. I lost a few plants to Bacterial Rot Or Timber Rot one season when it rained a lot.

I hope someone else with more experience with disease answers your post. Years ago I had one plant that disease affected the new growth and I ended up pulling that plant. I waited a while but it did not get better. Since it is early and hopefully you have spare plants you might consider this.

Good Luck whatever you decide
seaeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2022   #3
Dark Rumor
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by seaeagle View Post
I have very little experience with tomato disease. I have Septoria which my plants always outgrow and it usually is just on the bottom leaves. I lost a few plants to Bacterial Rot Or Timber Rot one season when it rained a lot.

I hope someone else with more experience with disease answers your post. Years ago I had one plant that disease affected the new growth and I ended up pulling that plant. I waited a while but it did not get better. Since it is early and hopefully you have spare plants you might consider this.

Good Luck whatever you decide