Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old August 10, 2016   #1
l_madu
Tomatovillian™

Default Newbie with Tomato Troubles! (photos)

Hi everyone!

I'm an ultra beginner to gardening (and by ultra beginner I mean never grown anything in my life) and earlier this year decided on a whim to try growing tomatoes from seed. I planted my seeds at the end of April, and my plants are now flowering and fruiting. The problem is that my leaves are in bad shape and I'm afraid they're just going to keep getting worse and I'll lose my plants and my fruit, and over 3 months of hard work will go down the drain.

I'm attaching some pictures so you can see the various symptoms I'm noticing. Sorry for the sideways ones...It will take me too long to delete, edit and reattach. In the pics you'll see some of these symptoms: leaves turning yellow, leaves turning brown and crispy on the edges and gradually spreading inwards, new leaves that grow in super tiny (are these stunted?), warped leaves that don't lay flat, leaves that curl down and feel hard/fragile, darkening/discolored leaves, the list goes on... I've browsed through tons of articles and guides for identifying tomato disease both in this forum and on the web, and I can't count the number of times I've come across info stating the cause could be either overwatering or underwatering... overfertilizing or underfertilizing... too much sun or too litle sun... I mean, how am I ever supposed to diagnose when it's always either/or? heeeeeelp!

tiny tims - this weird browning of the edges is slowly creeping up the entire plant
20160807_085018.jpg

tiny tims - this weird browning of the edges is slowly creeping up the entire plant
20160809_084833.jpg

yellowing leaves
20160809_214842.jpg

yellowing leaves
20160809_214921.jpg

warped leaves
20160809_214958.jpg

warped leaves
20160809_215007.jpg

tiny new leaf growth