Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating fruit-bearing plants, trees, flowers and ornamental plants.

Old March 22, 2015   #1
AlittleSalt
BANNED FOR LIFE

Default Shasta Daisy

This is my first attempt to start flowers in cells. The flower pack tells to start indoors 8 weeks before last frost. Then get them accustomed to outdoors (What I'm doing now). But it doesn't say anything about what size the plants should be at the time of transplanting them to garden. That is a US penny to show plant size.

I'm also wondering about how they may be able to take some colder temperatures? Shasta Daisies are perennials after all.

Any thoughts, opinions, or facts would be great

Thanks,
Robert
Attached Images
File Type: jpg HNI_0076.JPG (80.9 KB, 77 views)
AlittleSalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22, 2015   #2
Starlight
Tomatovillian™

Robert, Nice looking babies you have there. They coming along just fine. They are perennials and they can take the cold when bigger, but they sure don't like cold and a lot of wet feet, especially int he seedling stage.

If you can if they start getting root bound I would transplant them into a bigger container and keep inside if you can til they get a bit bigger. They are not the fastest growing plant there is. It will be a year or two usually before you will see blooms.

What I do is take my seedlings your size and put three seedlings into a 6" pot. I know it normal to want to plant them straight up and down in the pot, but if you plant it at just a tiny bit of an angle and don't bury any deeper than what you have now, you will find that new shoots will emerge from out of the crown. If you bury the crown you will be waiting forever for your plant to fill out and they have natural tendency to lean a bit anyways.