Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

New to growing your own tomatoes? This is the forum to learn the successful techniques used by seasoned tomato growers. Questions are welcome, too.

Old April 7, 2010   #1
MrC
Tomatovillian™

Default Started From Seed But What's Wrong With My 'Maters? Please Help!

Hello all. I hope you can help tell me what I did wrong! This is my first time starting tomatoes and I was extremely excited. Unfortunately now I'm very upset! As you can see from the link below what once appeared to be a nice batch of healthy heirloom tomatoes has something terribly wrong with them:

http://picasaweb.google.com/john.all...eat=directlink

After reading around and looking at pictures online of tomato diseases I suspect some sort of bacterial infection - but I can't figure out how that could have happened? I couldn't have over-watered - I waited until the peat pots were nearly crusty and bone dry.

I did notice the growth of some mold on some of the peat pot tops. I'm not sure I would use these again although several sites said they were the most fool proof way for a newbie like me to start good seedlings!

Any idea where I went wrong? Are the seedlings salvageable or should I throw all affected plants away before they destroy my (for now) healthy looking pepper plants on the top shelf?

Any advice is *so* appreciated! Thank you.
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7, 2010   #2
danwigz
Tomatovillian™

Purple leaves I believe mean they are phosphate deficient; I have this same problem. I've moved mine to a warmer location and have applied a thin (very thin) layer of worm castings over the top of the soil to hopefully kick start extra nutrient intake (I have no idea if this is recommended, but I didn't want to use miracle grow or an equivalent).