Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old June 21, 2008   #1
Fert1
Tomatovillian™

Default Cherokee Purple in a Container

I was just curious if anyone else here had grown Cherokee Purple in a container before and what luck you may have had with it.

This is my first attempt at container growing, due to diseased soil conditions. I have one CP growing in a very large pot. So far it's a gorgeous plant, and it already has 13 tomatoes set, possibly more in hiding as the foliage is extremely lush and dense. I've never seen a healthier looking plant. A couple of the tomatoes are around baseball size now too.

I know that blossom end rot can be a problem with container-grown plants, and I'm crossing my fingers that it won't be a problem. If this experiment is a success, next year I will have a whole row of containers across my deck. It's a 25 foot long deck, so there's lots of space.

So, what are my chances?
Old June 21, 2008   #2
Zana
Tomatovillian™

I grew about 8 CP's in containers last year. I've got about the same started already for this year. Depending on the size of the container, the CP will grow in proportion to it. The largest container for the CP's I used last year was about 18 to 2gallons (US)/65-70L. The plants grew to be about 4 to 6ft/1.2-1.8m high and produced about 30 to 50 good sized fruit each.
Zana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21, 2008   #3
creister
Tomatovillian™

I've grown them in the ground and in some homemade earthboxes. Results have been about equal as far as production, number of fruit, and taste. I planted mine with another plant, so I think fruits were bigger from those in a garden bed. My hebs (containers) hold about 14 gallons of mix. I usually get about 15-20 fruit. CP is a very good tasting tomato. Sounds like you will do fine. If BER shows up, add some gypsum. Just make sure you water regularly.