Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old April 23, 2012   #1
Sidney Cays
Tomatovillian™

Default A Plug for Stupices...

Here on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington, our weather is cool and degree days are far short of ideal, making tomato-growing problimatical. Of all the early tomatoes recommended over the years, Stupice stands out as the one, never-fail yearly success story. No matter how cool the summer, this is the one tomato that will set fruit every year, as opposed to the many that won't.

That includes those bred especially for this are, and it tastes good, too.
Sidney Cays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23, 2012   #2
ddsack
Tomatovillian™

Welcome, Sidney, and I agree! I don't remember my seed source, because I've been saving my own for so many years (probably Tomato Growers Supply) but after trying all the early PL Stupice look-a-likes, I still like Stupice best. It's my earliest, none of the other's taste any better to me, and it keeps putting out until fall, even though it's virtually ignored after the bigger tomatoes start to ripen. It doesn't seem to mind a bit of shade, as the plant in my woodsy garden ripens the first tomato only a few days later than in my full sun garden. Yay for Stupice!

ddsack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23, 2012   #3
Sidney Cays
Tomatovillian™

Here, there often are no "later tomatoes". The season is just not warm enough. Peppers, even the little ones, are usually a dead loss, and only the very early varieties of corn grow well here. Cucumbers and squash do not do all that well, either.
But - things like onions and peas and lettuces are at their best. They love this kind of weather, and the cole crops can't be beat. Seed for these species are often raised here and in other western Washington areas.
I hadn't tried saving Stupice seed, because I thought it was a hybrid. Thanks for the info.

Sidney
Old April 23, 2012   #4