Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

New to growing your own tomatoes? This is the forum to learn the successful techniques used by seasoned tomato growers. Questions are welcome, too.

Old May 2, 2012   #1
babice
Tomatovillian™

Default Am I wrong or is this a good price (seed starter kit)

I was browsing this company's site and came upon this seed starting kit: http://www.sunlightsupply.com/p-1444...n-station.aspx. I mean - hello - $39.95? I don't even want to tally up how much I paid this year for all the Burpee and Jiffy seed starting trays and the heat mat I pot (being a newbie I had nothing to even start from). Anyone think I'm wrong about this benig a good price? I may want to buy this for future usage.
babice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012   #2
bobberman
Tomatovillian™

I think most of the kits are way over priced. I buy seed flats with 48 or 60 cubes for less than a $1 at agway and simply put them in a plastic container or even plastic lid that holds water! You can water from the bottom! My problem is I have 50 flats and run out of indoor room where they will get enough light even in my 2 small solar greenhouses!
Old May 2, 2012   #3
marc_groleau
Tomatovillian™

The kits are indeed way overpriced. I buy the trays at a catalog type garden /greenhouse supply for $.89 each. I think you need to buy a minimum of 15. As for the clear plastic dome, I cover the trays with plastic from home depot until the first seedlings pop up and then I don't use a covering any more.
marc_groleau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012   #4
babice
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by marc_groleau View Post
The kits are indeed way overpriced. I buy the trays at a catalog type garden /greenhouse supply for $.89 each. I think you need to buy a minimum of 15. As for the clear plastic dome, I cover the trays with plastic from home depot until the first seedlings pop up and then I don't use a covering any more.