Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old July 23, 2017   #1
bin4given2
Tomatovillian™

Default Reasons Sun Gold isn't sweet?

I've been growing Sun Golds every year for 5 years in a 20 gal. grow bag - they are always sweet and flavorful, but for some reason they are not sweet this year..... at all. I cannot come up with a reason why, unless it is related to the first signs of blight (early, late?) showing on the bottom leaves. Any ideas? Growing season has been good and early this year in Colorado!
bin4given2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23, 2017   #2
b54red
Tomatovillian™

It may be some other variety that is similar but not as sweet. I have never grown them that they weren't almost too sweet to eat.

The only thing I can think that might cause that is way way too much water. Too much water can dilute the flavor of any tomato.

Bill
b54red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23, 2017   #3
Worth1
Tomatovillian™

The plant I bought sucked I let it die.
Worse tomato ever this year and growing in the same spot other cherry tomatoes like Galina's thrived.

Worth
Worth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23, 2017   #4
JosephineRose
Tomatovillian™

My sun gold is not sweet either, and giving very small fruit. My first time growing it. I was not impressed.
JosephineRose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24, 2017   #5
KarenO
Tomatovillian™

Unlikely it is a real sungold. Lots of look alikes out there these days
KarenO
KarenO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24, 2017   #6
oakley
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by bin4given2 View Post