Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old April 17, 2017   #1
agee12
Tomatovillian™

Default Tetanus Shot and What Else?

I am a newbie gardener and randomly came across that gardeners should get tetanus shot / boosters and am going to ask for this at my doctor's appointment on Thursday, is there anything else I should ask for?

Thanks.
agee12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17, 2017   #2
dmforcier
Tomatovillian™

A discount?

My clinic keeps wanting to give me a tetanus shot. Neither I nor the nurse can explain why since I'm not at risk. But if you're working in dirt, it's a good idea.

Stupidity got us into this mess. Why can't it get us out?
- Will Rogers

dmforcier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17, 2017   #3
slugworth
Tomatovillian™

actually now it's a mix of things.
I stepped on a nail last year and it was a combo shot of 3 things.
slugworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17, 2017   #4
Labradors2
Tomatovillian™

Yeah Slugworth. It's a combo shot of Tetanus, Diptheria and Whooping Cough.

It seems the docs are really pushing Tetanus shots these days, probably to make Big Pharma even more rich. I run in the opposite direction.....

Linda
Labradors2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17, 2017   #5
KarenO
Tomatovillian™

Tetanus is a horrific disease entirely preventable with a simple immunization. It is available both I. It's own as well as in combination with diphtheria and whooping cough. Recommend For everyone.
Google a video of a patient with tetanus. Thanks to vaccines, a rare occurance.
Incidentally most cases of whooping cough in infants comes from adult relatives so a booster is a good idea not only for yourself but any children you may care about as well.
Karen

Last edited by KarenO; April 17, 2017 at 02:45 PM.
KarenO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17, 2017   #6
bower
Tomatovillian™