Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old March 4, 2015   #1
Abigail
Tomatovillian™

Default Anyone Tried Currant Tomatoes?

This is my first year growing a currant tomato (Sweet Pea), supposed to be super tiny and sweet, so I am very excited for them. I have never seen them at my local farmers market either, so I thought I'd see if anyone here has grown them and get your thoughts!
Abigail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4, 2015   #2
Blueaussi
Tomatovillian™

I grow them every year. Not Sweet Pea, but plain old red and yellow current tomatoes. Most years I get a few yellow current tomatoes popping up around the yard, too.

I think they have a wonderful, true tomato taste, not that overwhelming sweetness so many cherry tomatoes have. I pick a couple of handfuls when I'm outside and wander around popping them into my mouth.
Blueaussi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4, 2015   #3
Abigail
Tomatovillian™

That sounds great! I am very excited about this tomato and I'm glad to hear that they aren't too sweet. Now I just need all this snow to melt....
Abigail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4, 2015   #4
heirloomtomaguy
Tomatovillian™

I have grown sweet pea and let me tell you they are incredibly productive and had a nice sweet taste. The only thing bad i can say is that it is a real pain in the rear having to harvest thousands of tiny pea size fruits. I eventually let it go and pulled it.
“Enter by the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and there are many who go in by it. Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it."
heirloomtomaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4, 2015   #5
carolyn137
Moderator Emeritus