Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating onions, garlic, shallots and leeks.

Old September 25, 2016   #1
bower
Tomatovillian™

Default shallots - how hardy are they?

We had light frost last night and a frost advisory for tonight so I pulled my bulb onions and shallots too. This is my first time growing shallots - it's a yellow one from William Dam. The bulbs I planted were large, and the ones I harvested are small, but some of them didn't bulb. I thought these might be the best to replant for next year, but not sure if they are hardy enough to plant back immediately, and there's no bulb to cure for a late fall or even spring planting.
I brought the little shallots in the house to cure, and put the 'no-bulbs' in the greenhouse overnight until I figure out what to do with them.
Maybe I should plant them in the greenhouse, and transplant outdoors in spring?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg nobulb-shallots.JPG (267.4 KB, 118 views)
File Type: jpg little-shallots.JPG (227.4 KB, 119 views)
bower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25, 2016   #2
PhilaGardener
Tomatovillian™

Looks like you have enough to try a few things, so as not to put all your shallots in one basket.

I've overwintered them without any problem in Pennsylvania, but you are colder. Definitely worth a try to have a few outside, perhaps with a really thick mulch.
PhilaGardener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25, 2016   #3
bower
Tomatovillian™

Thanks. Would you try a replant of the no-bulb ones, or do you cure the shallots and then plant them later in fall?

We're having a bit of a cold snap for the next few days, but there are normal highs near 15 C (60 F) in the week ahead, so not out of the question to plant out something green. And mulch it.
Old September 26, 2016   #4
joseph
Tomatovillian™

Shallots are winter hardy in my USDA 4b garden. I don't give them any special care. Just plant them in plain old silty dirt.