Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating melons, cucumbers, squash, pumpkins and gourds.

Old July 16, 2007   #1
materlvr
Tomatovillian™

Default Blacktail Mountain Watermelon-when ripe?

Well, thanks to all the help I've gotten from you all, I have a Blacktail Mountain Watermelon that I think is almost ripe. Can you tell me how to be sure?

Also, I have a total of four melons out of 13 vines planted. They're slowly coming along, but can I still get more melons at the stage? The vines are looking kinda "grubby"......

It's my first year gowing melons and I don't have a clue what I'm doing!

Thanks,

Janie
materlvr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 16, 2007   #2
feldon30
Tomatovillian™

Not sure where you are located, but melons are negatively affected by heavy rainfall, specifically fungal and bacterial diseases as well as powdery mildew. Hopefully you've got your melon plants growing on a thick layer of mulch.

I think it is ideal to have 2-4 melons per plant but that takes ideal conditions. Probably 30-50% rich compost in very loose, sandy soil. After utter disaster last year, I am considering growing melons next spring and will implement everything I have learned and hope it pays off.

Telling a ripe watermelon is a challenge.

* The number of days-to-maturity can be helpful. When did you sow seeds?

* The white spot where the fruit is resting on the ground ought to turn a creamy yellow color.

* The vine attached to the melon should look a bit aged and perhaps somewhat dried. Also the leaves closest to the fruit can give clues.

* The skin of the melon might go from shiny and perfect to dull with a little bit of texturing on the top, like the melon is a bit sunburned. That's a sure sign.