Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old January 31, 2009   #1
Raymondo
Tomatovillian™

Default Cherokee pink?

A work colleague is growing Cherokee Purple and is loving them. One fruit on one of his plants however was a perfectly round, pink tomato, slightly larger than a tennis ball. I asked for a few seeds and he gave me the fruit. The flavour was very good but just a little more acid than CP, and of course it was very pink. No pics sorry as I'm a lousy photographer. Is this a somatic mutation?
Old January 31, 2009   #2
carolyn137
Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymondo View Post
A work colleague is growing Cherokee Purple and is loving them. One fruit on one of his plants however was a perfectly round, pink tomato, slightly larger than a tennis ball. I asked for a few seeds and he gave me the fruit. The flavour was very good but just a little more acid than CP, and of course it was very pink. No pics sorry as I'm a lousy photographer. Is this a somatic mutation?
It sounds like a possible somatic mutation to me Ray.

It's about the only way that one can get one fruit on a plant that's different in color or shape, or whatever, from all the others on the plant that are true to the variety.

But I'm a bit confused b'c usually it's just one trait that has mutatated, not two as in both a color AND shape change.

I've been lucky to see three somatic mutations in all my years of growing tomatoes.

For those who are wondering, most mutations are those that affect the DNA in the seed while somatic mutations, also called "sports" by some, are mutations in the DNA of a plant cell, not the DNA of the seed.
Old January 31, 2009   #3
nctomatoman
Tomatoville® Moderator