Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

New to growing your own tomatoes? This is the forum to learn the successful techniques used by seasoned tomato growers. Questions are welcome, too.

Old April 13, 2013   #1
whistech
Tomatovillian™

Default Bottom Watering How To???

I am new to gardening and is my first Spring garden. I am trying to start seeds for practice before I need to do it for real this winter. I have had pretty good luck gettins seeds to grow to their first true leaves, but when I pot up to larger pots (4" square), I start losing plants. From what I have read here, I may be watering too much. I have the pots in a solid bottom nursery flat and pour water in from the bottom to where it reaches about 1/2 to 3/4 inch up the side of the pots. As soon as the water is absorbed in a day or two, I have been repeating the process. I am also adding one teaspoon per quart of 10/10/10 liquid fertilizer each time I water.

My question is this: When you bottom water, do you give the plants a certain amount of time to absorb some water and then move the pots out of the recpticle used to hold water?

Please point me in the right direction, I'm pretty discouraged right now.
whistech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13, 2013   #2
jerryinfla
Tomatovillian™

I bottom water and yes, I remove pots after the very top of the soil in the pots is damp -- usually 30 minutes or so and it changes color. Then I don't water again until the soil in the pots is almost dry. If you use the same size pots and same or very similar potting mix in time you'll learn when to water and when to remove the pots from the watering recptical by weight change.
Old April 13, 2013   #3
Cole_Robbie
Tomatovillian™

Everybody's mix will wick differently. My peat-based pro mix likes to turn into bricks that float until I dunk or flood them. It is worse on larger pots.
Cole_Robbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13, 2013   #4
rwsacto
Tomatovillian™