Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old September 7, 2015   #1
travis
Tomatovillian™

Default Eva St. Wendell

Here is a tomato that I've been working with for several years in a row.

The original cross I think was done by Keith Mueller for Darrel Jones (Fusion Power), but Fusion may correct me if I am mistaken about its origin. Anyway the cross was made between Big Beef F1 and Eva's Purple Ball with the intent of selecting an Eva's Purple Ball type with greater disease tolerance.

I obtained F3 seeds from a medium sized pink F2 tomato, and continued to select for 6 - 8 ounce, round, pink, thin skinned tomatoes with well balanced flavor.

After several years of selection, I have a stable line that produces tomatoes that appear to replicate Eva's Purple Ball in appearance, but do not shatter (fall off) the vine when ripe as do EPBs.

The fruit size has varied between say 5 and 9 ounces year to year depending upon weather conditions (smaller and fewer in hot, dry seasons), but have produced very well in moderate climates according to reports I have received from several growers with whom I shared seeds in the past two summers.
travis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7, 2015   #2
clkeiper
Tomatovillian™

Nice. I love pink tomatoes.
Old September 7, 2015   #3
Labradors2
Tomatovillian™

That one sounds like a real winner. How was the flavor?

Linda
Labradors2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7, 2015   #4
carolyn137
Moderator Emeritus

And what's the story behind the name you gave it, again;

Eva, I understand

St. as opposed to Ste., refers to a male Saint, and knowing you as I do I'm positive that the St. is not referring to you.

Wendell, I don't have a clue.

Looks like a good one Bill and in terms of sharing seeds sometime in the future allow me remind you who first made Eva Purple Ball available to others.

http://tatianastomatobase.com/wiki/Eva_Purple_Ball