Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating beans, peas, peanuts, clover and vetch.

Old May 30, 2009   #1
Fert1
Tomatovillian™

Default How long do green beans keep?

How long do green beans keep in a refrigerator? I ask, because I have a couple of bean pods that are big enough to pick, but most are tiny and will be a while before they are ready. I just wondered how long they will keep while I wait for more to add to them. Yes, it's my first year growing green beans of any kind. So I haven't a clue what I'm doing.
Old May 31, 2009   #2
Zana
Tomatovillian™

Why not toss those that are ripe in the freezer until others are ripe enough to eat, and then eat them?
Zana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2009   #3
garnetmoth
Tomatovillian™

beans grow fast, you should be OK. if you keep them in a plastic bag, maybe with a barely damp paper towel, they should be fine for 3-4 days easy.
I thought freezing was best done after blanching, but havent frozen any myself.
good luck
garnetmoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2009   #4
aninocentangel
Tomatovillian™

I usually get little batches like that too, and save them in the freezer. When I get a whole big bag I do the blanching thing and either can them or eat them.
If you want to keep them in the fridge and they're whole they'll usually still be okay in a week, although I find that they'll have toughened up.
aninocentangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2009   #5
Amigatec
Tomatovillian™

I don't know they never last that long around here.

I have found that frozen green beans tend to get rubbery if not blanched before freezing. I normally can all of mine.
Amigatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2009   #6
Fert1
Tomatovillian™

I hadn't even thought of freezing them. Thanks for the suggestion!
Old June 4, 2009   #7
aninocentangel
Tomatovillian™