Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion regarding garden diseases, insects and other unwelcome critters.

Old July 30, 2020   #1
lycomania
Tomatovillian™

Default Trying to diagnose my tomato problem

Hi All,
I'm having a major yellowing leaves problems with some of my tomato plants. It doesn't look like a foliar disease, and I don't think it's vert or fus wilt, going by the symptoms, but I could be wrong. The last picture is a bisected stem.

I had one plant get one of the wilts, and it would wilt before the leaves started dying. That's not happening with these plants. They mostly yellow first, starting from the bottom. I've been growing tomatoes here for about 8 years or so, and I've never seen it.

It's spreading upwards quite quickly. Help please?!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20200730_151143.jpg (227.6 KB, 257 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20200730_151235.jpg (180.8 KB, 253 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20200730_151606.jpg (92.0 KB, 257 views)
lycomania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30, 2020   #2
Labradors2
Tomatovillian™

I would remove the lower leaves that are yellowed/dead and give your plants some fertilizer. I think that's all they need.

Linda
Labradors2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30, 2020   #3
lycomania
Tomatovillian™

Thanks, Linda. I'll go out and do that + foliar so at least I can cross that part off the list. I'd be surprised, but wouldn't be the first time.
Old July 31, 2020   #4
lycomania
Tomatovillian™

Well, sad to report I'm pretty sure it is fusarium wilt after all. It seems this came out of the blue after never seeing it before. These were all grown from seed by me, from seeds that are at least six years old, that I have been growing all these years.

I didn't want to believe it, but there it is.
Old August 1, 2020   #5
Labradors2
Tomatovillian™