Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating fruit-bearing plants, trees, flowers and ornamental plants.

Old March 5, 2015   #1
MarcH.
Tomatovillian™

Default Started 30 flowers in a flat..pot or plant in garden?

So I was reading the seed packets of my wife's flowers and saw it said sow directly in bed or indoors. So I started 30 different flowers in a flat 3 days ago. Almost all have come up and I moved them under the grow light.

4 types of zinnia
1 spun gold marigold
1 geisha girl - calendula

I'm done with frost it looks...the 10 day outlook is all 75 high low at 50 or above....right where we should be.

The plan was to transplant into 4 inch pots then into garden after. Would I be able to just transplant these out of the flat straight into my garden after they get their first true leaves? I'm totally new to flowers...wish I would've just direct sowed them.
MarcH. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6, 2015   #2
drew51
Tomatovillian™

Sure, just baby them a little. Acclimate them before planting. Yeah I try to direct sow as much as I can but doing it indoors is better. You do get better germination.
drew51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6, 2015   #3
luigiwu
Tomatovillian™

Interested in your progress because I was thinking about doing some zinnia and petunias for containers this year. I've read about wintersowing and love the no-fuss-no-muss idea. BUT imo, it doesn't really work for petunias as it seems to take too long before they bloom (at least what I've read. Sounded like if I want petunias to be blooming in summer, I woudl have had to start them in January...)

I've DIGRESSED - so I was thinking of using their idea of using recycled container (milk jugs, food trays etc) as mini greenhouses and seeing if I could just germinate them outside when it gets closer to the no-frost date in my area...
Old March 6, 2015   #4
drew51
Tomatovillian™