Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old January 15, 2019   #1
biscuitridge
Tomatovillian™

Default Newby here with micro tomatoes

I can grow giant ones,but this is my first attempt at micros indoors, this plant is 22 days from planting seed and it has blossoms forming already, is this about average or not? Pinocchio is the variety, a sweet orange supposedly. Anybody out there that can speak to the taste of it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190115_142136.jpg (383.0 KB, 170 views)
biscuitridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15, 2019   #2
KarenO
Tomatovillian™

Looks great, I would say above average for development at that age. Are you feeding it world record food ?
Most micros will be “ ok” or “ pretty good” at best for flavour in my personal experience maybe 6/7/10 at best grown outdoors they taste better but still not renown for flavour.
Very pretty plant and that’s what they are supposed to be, cute mostly. But so nice to have indoors in winter regardless.
I’ve crossed a few to see what happens hoping to achieve a bit more flavour but mine are just F2 and none even ripe yet so will be quite some time before any hint of success or not
Karen
KarenO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15, 2019   #3
oakley
Tomatovillian™

Ah, biscuitridge, my tomato growing hero.
I started growing micros 2015, and a few commercial comparables 2016 with a fellow here
F2's for grow outs.

I start seed every four months, a 1010 tray. Cull for size, then flavor.
Four I've carried forward...three at F6 and an Angora leaf F3. I've made room for 36+ plants during
my best growing spring/summer season but winter grow is slow but still forward important.

The commercial hybrids I ditched from lack of flavor.

My winter grows are close to 60 days now showing buds... you are a pro grower getting that at 22.?!

Clearly I need your help,
Attached Images