Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating eggplants/aubergines.

Old March 6, 2007   #1
Fert1
Tomatovillian™

Default How many to plant? Advice?

I've never grown eggplant before, but wanted to try it this year. I have no idea how well seeds germinate or how productive an eggplant is in general. So I have no idea how many seeds to start. Can anyone advise me on that?

I love eggplant, but my hubbie won't touch it. I do have a few friends who would probably take excess fruit from me. I wouldn't want to eat it every day, but maybe twice a week. I would appreciate any advice anyone can give me since I am a newbie at this.

How difficult are eggplant to grow compared to tomatoes and peppers? Do they need staking? How well do the seeds germinate? What kind of production is typical? I'm just full of questions. LOL!

Last edited by Fert1; March 6, 2007 at 12:41 PM.
Fert1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6, 2007   #2
shelleybean
Tomatovillian™

Hi, Fert1. Generally speaking, the Asian (long, skinny) types are more productive for me than the Italian (bell or teardrop) shaped ones, but I think which kind you plant depends on how you want to cook with them. The skinny one are well suited to ratatouille or stir fry or pickling and the fat ones are better for slicing and grilling or casseroles like eggplant parmesan. A couple of years ago I grew two Louisiana Long Green, the skinny kind, and those two plants alone produced at least 40 fruit, probably more. So if you're the only one eating them, I'd say two plants. And then again I've had the rounder ones like Rosa Bianca only produce a few fruit all summer. Why not try one of each shape and see what you like? And maybe try a couple of different colors.