Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

New to growing your own tomatoes? This is the forum to learn the successful techniques used by seasoned tomato growers. Questions are welcome, too.

Old March 4, 2011   #1
emzybo
Tomatovillian™

Default My Seedling Pics--First Timer

Here are some pics of my general (cluttered) seed starting setup.

This is my first year growing tomatoes from seed, and I'm pretty anxious about keeping them alive, lol. Shown are various stages of tomato and herb seedlings--I'm going to try to plant some out early, and I have backups. (Perhaps I even have backups for my backups as I've heard stated on here before.) I do feel kind of sorry for my poor "guinea-pig" seedlings, but I think many seem to be doing okay. The oldest were planted about 3 1/2 weeks ago, so the seedlings are at most 3 weeks old.

Any constructive advice, comments or ideas are greatly appreciated!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg seedstartingsetup2.jpg (245.2 KB, 133 views)
File Type: jpg seedstartingsetup3.jpg (201.8 KB, 108 views)
File Type: jpg seedstartingsetup1.jpg (202.0 KB, 111 views)
emzybo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4, 2011   #2
newatthiskat
Tomatovillian™

Default Reply

Your plants are looking great! How many are you oging to be able to put in your garden and what kind are they?
Kat
newatthiskat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4, 2011   #3
emzybo
Tomatovillian™

Thanks Kat, here's my current grow list:

Sown on 2/6:
Big Beef
Better Boy
Roma
Brandywine
Early Girl
Big Rainbow
Supersweet 100
Large Red Cherry
Sown 2/11:
Black Krim
Rio Grande
Pruden's Purple
San Marzano
Rutgers
Beefsteak
2/26:
Aunt Lucy's Italian Paste
Ground Cherry
Bloody Butcher
Box Car Willie
Lucky Cross
Old Brooks
Mule Team
Aunt Gertie's Gold
Aunt Ruby's German Green
Black Cherry
Cherokee Purple
3/1/11:
Currant
Fantome du Laas
Green Zebra
Kellogg's Breakfast
Matina
Pork Chop
Red Robin (in container)
Remy Rouge
Rinaldo
San Marzano 2
Stump of the World
Yellow Brandywine
Stupice