Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Historical background information for varieties handed down from bygone days.

Old February 7, 2011   #1
gryffin
Tomatovillian™

Default Northern New England heirlooms?

Hello all:

I'm relatively new to growing heirlooms. I enjoy reading the stories behind true heirloom varieties. I've decided it would be great if I could find some varieties grown, saved and handed down in my own area. I live in New Hampshire on the Vermont border.

I've done some basic searches- but was wondering if anyone here had any suggestions on either varieties or places to look for such varieties.

Thanks!
gryffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7, 2011   #2
mjc
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by gryffin View Post
I've done some basic searches- but was wondering if anyone here had any suggestions on either varieties or places to look for such varieties.

Thanks!
Basically, if you want true, local heirlooms...then you need to talk to old folks in the area, especially those who have gardened for a long time (and really talk to those that have a family history of gardening). Many times what you are after ARE NOT 'named' varieties (well they may have been 75 yrs ago, but if anyone remembers that, you are very, very lucky). More often than not, you'll be looking at something with a no name or at best 'Grandpa's favorite tomato'/family name attached to it.
mjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7, 2011   #3
FILMNET
Tomatovillian™

Default ITE

I live in MA, and the city is old, but the summer's are only 3-4 months for growing. We have some diaries from 1850s, from my wife's family who lived here. Most are from Women, and there is no writing about gardens at all. Like this nasty winter year here, i but it was really hard for them then.
FILMNET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16, 2011   #4
RinTinTin
Tomatovillian™

You might try contacting: