Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old May 17, 2012   #1
magsmom
Tomatovillian™

Default Need help with Heirloom

Hi everyone , I have been growing an Heirloom tomato for the past 7 years. problem is, I don't know it's name . The seeds were given to me by my husbands Grandmother and she has passed away and no one else in the family knows the variety. Can someone suggest a good place to try to help me identify this ? I will also post pictures later this summer. My plants are only about 10" tall right now ! It is a beautiful, meaty pink tomato.
magsmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012   #2
carolyn137
Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by magsmom View Post
Hi everyone , I have been growing an Heirloom tomato for the past 7 years. problem is, I don't know it's name . The seeds were given to me by my husbands Grandmother and she has passed away and no one else in the family knows the variety. Can someone suggest a good place to try to help me identify this ? I will also post pictures later this summer. My plants are only about 10" tall right now ! It is a beautiful, meaty pink tomato.
It sounds as though it's been grown within the family for a very long time and maybe it didn't even have a name at all, which is not uncommon, and maybe it was a commercial variety that was grown and the name long forgotten.

Since there are about 15- 20,000 varieties known and about 6 - 7000 thousand available commercially, and hundreds upon hundreds of
large meaty pink varieties that all look about the same, there's no way that any pictures are going to be able to ID a specific known name for a large pink fruit.

It happens to me all the time when I'm given a family heirloom variety and then I have to name it myself along with the person who gave it to me, and what they knew about it.