Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old May 14, 2012   #1
chancethegardener
Tomatovillian™

Default Super tea trial

Today, I am starting a trial for a tea to feed the vegetables. The ingredients:

- 2 cups of my own totally vegetable based compost.
- 3 oz of alfalfa meal.
- 2 oz of kelp extract.
- 1 oz of molasses.
- 2 oz of fish fertilizer.
- 1 teaspoon of Great White mycorrhizae.

I am planning to brew the tea for 2 days. My only concern is the fish fertilizer. In this hot weather it will probably stink and also cleaning the container will be difficult. Additionally, I am not an expert in this but it might be an overkill for the beneficial bacteria because of high Nitrogen. In any case, I will make the next batch without fish fertilizer.

In this tea I am very excited about alfalfa meal (and cold-water treated kelp extract). Alfalfa meal includes the natural growth stimulant Triacontanol.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Super Tea Ingredients.jpg (234.1 KB, 33 views)
chancethegardener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012   #2
The Future
Tomatovillian™

How are you aerating this? Also, is your alfalfa organic? Lots of GMO product around.
Old May 16, 2012   #3
chancethegardener
Tomatovillian™

I use air pump/air stones. Alfalfa meal is reported to be organic on the product box. I have found information about the product on this link: http://agr.wa.gov/PestFert/Fertilize...spx?pname=3609.
Old May 16, 2012   #4
The Future
Tomatovillian™

Good stuff. I have found aquarium style aeration/circulation devices much more durable than air stones. The stones clog eventually. I have have air pumps last for months only and then fail.
Old May 16, 2012   #5
z_willus_d
Tomatovillian™