Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion regarding garden diseases, insects and other unwelcome critters.

Old November 11, 2008   #1
tessa
Tomatovillian™

Default help me

what is it???

i can't seem to find anything resembling this in my searches. any ideas anyone?

it's been wet and cold here lately...but has just warmed up in the last two days...and *poof*...this appears.
it's my stump of the world! i've been growing stump for 2 years and still have not got to taste one. it only just set a fruit finally 2 days ago. i hope it lives to ripen it.
tessa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11, 2008   #2
Spatzbear
Tomatovillian™

That doesn't look good. Sorry, can't help. Maybe it's just been the cold that did that? Hope it recovers and you get to taste some tomatoes. Good luck!
Old November 11, 2008   #3
tessa
Tomatovillian™

spatz!
long time no 'see'.
how's things over your way? getting some rain?

no.
i agree.
it's not looking good.
and here i was having my best year yet.
Old November 11, 2008   #4
Worth1
Tomatovillian™

Don't worry so much as to what it is and cut off all effected parts and see what happens.

Is it really that red?

Worth
Worth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12, 2008   #5
tessa
Tomatovillian™

it is really that red!

i've cut them worth.
i'm watching.
gosh.
i'm on the edge of my seat!
Old November 12, 2008   #6
ContainerTed
Tomatovillian™

Tessa, I had this on my Golden Jubilee this year. Nobody could nail down what it was, and pruning alone let it come back again and again. Finally, I sprayed heavily with Daconil and that fixed it. Didn't seem to affect the fruit size or the taste.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg GldnJubDisease1.jpg (71.0 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg GldnJubDisease.jpg (86.2 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg GldnJubDisease4.jpg (92.7 KB, 26 views)
The Muddy Bucket Farm
and Tomato Ranch

ContainerTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12, 2008   #7
carolyn137
Moderator Emeritus