Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion regarding garden diseases, insects and other unwelcome critters.

Old May 17, 2009   #1
Thawley
Tomatovillian™

Default Me & my predator pals

Gotta say, I'm pretty pleased with all that the spiders and lacewing bugs seem to be doing around here lately...

Half of this year's crop went in the ground the first week of Feb. All was well at first. About the time the roots dug in and began pushing some real height, the aphids arrived. We had quite a few last year. When I went too far with the neem oil, I stressed some Brandywine plants and lost weeks of grow time helping them recover. I'm a noob. Still learning about how much of anything is too much. That experience left me a little gun shy about spraying too much or too early.

This year saw the same early aphid invasion. However I spent a lot more time on search & destroy of individual bugs. Using water blasts. And using neem only on infested areas rather than entire plants. Seems to be working. The plants show no signs of stress like last year. But here's the real eye opener...

After only a few weeks of active inspection and eradication I felt like I was wasting my time. I couldn't find any. Thinking they just got smarter, I looked harder. Crawling on the ground looking up. Lifting branches. Looking at different times of day. Etc. I found almost no aphids. But I did find something else.

Spiders.

Lots of them. At least one elaborate web per plant/cage. Usually more. All with "catches" stuck in them. They are my new best friends.

And lately I've noticed lacewing bugs by the porch light in the evenings. They just appeared. Magic.