Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old July 8, 2006   #1
Rena
Tomatovillian™

Default Looking to grow some Hearts..

Each year I tend to go in one direction with the tomatoes last year it was Dwarves this year it was cherries and a green theme one year it was hybrids and so on. Next year I am doing an ALL stars LOL and I promised not to grow over 300 plants but I think my direction will be in Hearts as well. I am just new to even thinking about hearts as I did not think they would grow well here in GA. This year I grew a few and they did fine. Thanks!
EDIT: THIS IS NOT A REQUEST
Rena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8, 2006   #2
lumierefrere
Tomatovillian™

I love my Mazarini (see avatar for mature fruit). Here's the adorable baby Mazarini I discovered this afternoon.

Also growing Little Lucky Heart but just flowers on that.
lumierefrere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8, 2006   #3
montanamato
Tomatovillian™

I am growing a variety called Monomakh's Hat (from Andrey). It will be one of my first ripe tomatoes from the main garden. I have only grown 3 or 4 hearts in past years, but this variety looks to be far superior in terms of tolerating rain, wind , and heat. The plant looks to be very productive and is a bit sturdier than most heart types.
I will be fermemting seeds later and can send you some if you like.

Jeanne
montanamato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8, 2006   #4
Dunkel
Tomatovillian™

You are more than welcome to some Pink Pointed seeds in the fall. I am growing it to compare with WV Pink Slicer but WVPS is being stingy with her fruits. Here's a picture of Pink Pointed.

[picture resized to fit screen width using IrfanView -- Suze]

http://www.irfanview.com/ (free download)

What the country needs is dirtier fingernails and cleaner minds. - Will Rogers
Dunkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8, 2006   #5
carolyn137
Moderator Emeritus

Rena,