Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

New to growing your own tomatoes? This is the forum to learn the successful techniques used by seasoned tomato growers. Questions are welcome, too.

Old March 29, 2012   #1
Longlake
Tomatovillian™

Default Black Cherry and Mule Team Seedlings

This is my first year growing Black Cherry and Mule Team…and I’ve gotta say that the seedlings from both are looking downright wimpy. Is that normal for these two???

Comparing the Black Cherry to another cherry planted at the same time (Tommy Toes), well, there is no comparison. My Tommy Toes are robust and nearly the same size as my bigger indeterminate varieties. The Black Cherry seedlings are tiny in comparison, took forever to sprout, and while they’re green and growing they just seem to be very finely textured compared to the rest. Normal? Or not?

As for Mule Team, it’s about the same story. Slow to germinate and the one seed that did sprout doesn’t seem to be making up for lost time. Not sure what’s typical for this one, but it sure isn’t keeping pace with any of the other varieties. Maybe it’s a late bloomer and will catch up one it’s outside?

Advice?

Thanks!
Old March 29, 2012   #2
carolyn137
Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Longlake View Post
This is my first year growing Black Cherry and Mule Team…and I’ve gotta say that the seedlings from both are looking downright wimpy. Is that normal for these two???

Comparing the Black Cherry to another cherry planted at the same time (Tommy Toes), well, there is no comparison. My Tommy Toes are robust and nearly the same size as my bigger indeterminate varieties. The Black Cherry seedlings are tiny in comparison, took forever to sprout, and while they’re green and growing they just seem to be very finely textured compared to the rest. Normal? Or not?